The Media Fair Trade Committee has a tradition of giving out awards to those leaders around the country, and throughout history, who have furthered the cause of reducing poverty and increasing opportunities for those in the developing world. This year, we are planning to present our awards either in person or virtually at the October 15, 2020 Media Borough Council Meeting. You can see our Facebook event here.

Join us during the Media Borough Council Meeting on Thursday, October 15 at 7:30pm in person in the Community Center, or virtually on the Council’s YouTube channel. We are anticipating presenting our awards within the first half-hour of the meeting. Click here for the Borough YouTube Channel

Some past awardees are:

2016 – Hal Taussig, a very interesting and caring local gentleman who first had the idea to make Media a Fair Trade Town.

2015 – Bayard Rustin, a civil rights activist and organizer, who was a key advisor to Martin Luther King Jr.

2014 – Media Elementary and Media Providence Friends, two schools that both became Fair Trade Designated Schools and have embraced teaching Fair Trade principles.

2012 – Rotary International, which has been working for decades to alleviate poverty around the world and include Fair Trade principles in their credo.